The Federal Government has announced a $16 million investment to establish 10 new Regional University Study Hubs. 

Education Minister Jason Clare says the initiative will bring university education closer to students in remote areas, who often face barriers due to distance.

The hubs are designed to support students in rural and regional areas, offering services such as high-speed internet, video conferencing, and small classrooms. 

Currently assisting 4,000 students, the hubs replicate campus services, facilitating a smoother transition to higher education for remote learners.

“I want more people to get a crack at going to university and that's what these hubs are all about,” Mr Clare said. 

He noted a disparity in university degree attainment between young Australians in urban and regional areas, emphasising the hubs' role in levelling the educational playing field.

The hubs will be located across Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland, South Australia, and Tasmania. 

Notably, locations include East Arnhem Land, Victor Harbor, Warwick, Chinchilla, Innisfail, King Island, Katanning, The Pilbara, Longreach, and East Gippsland, with operations expected to commence within the next 12 months.

The initiative aims to enhance tertiary education access, a requirement detailed in the recent Universities Accord Interim Report. 

An additional $50.9 million has been earmarked for the establishment of 20 more Regional University Study Hubs and up to 14 new Suburban University Study Hubs in major city outskirts.

The initiative also includes additional funding for existing hubs in Cowra and Mudgee, New South Wales, which the government says have already helped increase university participation and completion rates in regional areas.

Expressions of interest for the next phase of hub expansions will be invited from 24 towns and suburbs.