The Queensland government has announced the establishment of another four teaching colleges in the state.


Queensland education minister Cameron Dick, who announced the initiative, hoped the construction of the centres would improve state teaching and student standards.


“We want to attract and train the best teachers for our schools and these centres will help raise the standard of teaching in Queensland, a quality education opens up a world of opportunities for students and teachers play a critical role in preparing young people for life." Mr Dick said.



The new centre locations are:


  • Morayfield East State School
  • The Mount Stuart cluster of schools (including William Ross State High School, Stuart State School, Annadale State School, Oonoonba State School, Woodstock State School and Wulguru State School)


The Morayfield East centre will aim at equipping teachers to drive standards in lower socio-economic areas, while the Aspley state school centre will focus on educating teaching staff to better cater to students with special needs.


The centres are opening under the Improved Teacher Quality National Partnership which aims to raise the standard of teaching in schools throughout the state.