The Federal Government has announced Michael Chaney will chair a new International Education Advisory Council tasked with advising the Federal Government in developing a long-term strategy for the international education sector.


“Building on the Government’s response to the Knight Review of International Student Visas, the new council will provide high level advice to the Government on the challenges and opportunities facing international education,” said Senator Chris Evans, Minister for Tertiary Education.


“The Council is well placed to contribute to the Government’s development of a five-year national strategy to support the sustainability and quality of international education.


“With his extensive experience across a wide range of industry sectors, Mr Chaney will provide leadership to the Advisory Council and help bring a strategic approach to the future of international education in Australia,” Senator Evans said.


“Membership of the Council also comprises eminent people from Australia’s education and business sectors including The Hon Bruce Baird AM, who headed the review of the Education Services for Overseas Students Act, and former Western Australian Premier, The Hon Dr Geoff Gallop AC.


The formation of the council forms part of a larger suite of measures introduced by the Federal Government aimed at strengthening the international education sector, including:

  • reforms to the student visa program recommended by the Knight Review;
  • strengthening the registration criteria for providers of education services to overseas students;
  • extending the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth Ombudsman to include students of private registered providers; and
  • moving to establish a single agency to safeguard the interests of students if a provider closes.


Terms of Reference for the Advisory Council are available at


The full list of Council members is as follows:



  • Michael Chaney AO
    • Chairman of the National Australia Bank
    • Chairman of Woodside Petroleum Limited
    • Chancellor of the University of Western Australia


  • The Hon Bruce Baird AM
    • Led the Review of the Education Services for Overseas Students Act
  • Ian Chubb AC
    • Chief Scientist for Australia
  • Claire Field
    • Chief Executive Officer, Australian Council for Private Education and Training
  • The Hon Dr Geoff Gallop AC
    • Former Premier of Western Australia
  • Margaret Gardner AO
    • Vice-Chancellor and President, RMIT University
  • Ross Love
    • Senior Partner and Managing Director, Boston Consulting Group Australia and New Zealand
  • Chris Madden
    • Pro-Vice Chancellor (International), Griffith University; 
      Vice President, Asia Pacific Association for International Education
  • Geoff Raby AO
    • Former Australian Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China
  • Virginia Simmons AO
    • Director, Virsis Consulting; former Board Member of TAFE Directors Australia
  • Jennifer Westacott,
    • Chief Executive, Business Council of Australia