The country’s best higher education teachers have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to education at the 2012 Australian Awards for University Teaching at a gala night at the National Gallery of Australia earlier this week.


Federal Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans, said the Awards recognise the outstanding quality of university teachers and their contribution to student learning.


"This year's award recipients have provided a rich and rewarding experience for thousands of students across Australia who will carry that experience into their own careers," Senator Evans said.


"Top rate university teaching goes hand-in-hand with a world-class higher education sector.


"The quality of teaching that our students receive is pivotal to the overall quality of their experience at university."


The night culminated in the awarding of the $50,000 Prime Minister’s Award for Australian University Teaching of the Year to the University of Western Sydney’s Dr James Arvanitakis.


Professor John Hay AC was awarded the Career Achievement Award for his exceptional services to higher education.


In addition, 10 awards were presented for teaching excellence and 10 for programs that enhance learning. Each recipient will receive $25,000 for their educational activities.