The Federal Government has announced a new reference group  to provide advice on the implementation of four higher education performance measurement instruments under the Australian Government’s $1.3 billion Advancing Quality in Higher Education initiative.


Professor Ian O’Connor, Vice Chancellor of Griffith University, will chair a reference group that will aim to better implement the initiative's goal to improve outcomes for students and pursue national quality, participation and attainment objectives.


The measurement instruments include the University Experience Survey, an Australian version of the Collegiate Learning Assessment, the composite Teaching Quality Indicator and the Review of the Australian Graduate Survey. 


The reference group will be made up of representatives from the higher education sector, business and student groups, who have been selected by the Government in consultation with Universities Australia.


A total of $30.8 million in Reward Funding has been set aside in 2012 and 2013 for the performance and quality measures to be developed. Under the new Performance Funding arrangements, Reward Funding of $335.1 million over four years is available to higher education providers for achievement against performance targets set out in their Compacts.


As part of the initiative, the Government announced in the 2011-12 Budget that an integrated suite of performance measurement instruments will be developed during the first Compact period from 2011 to 2013 for use in Performance Funding.


AQHE Reference Group members:



Professor Ian O’Connor (Chair)

Vice Chancellor
Griffith University

Professor Richard Henry AM

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) 
University of New South Wales

Professor Carole Kayrooz

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Education)
University of Canberra

Professor Judyth Sachs

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Provost) 
Macquarie University

Professor Jim Barber

University of New England

Professor Richard James

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Participation and Engagement) and Director of the Centre for Studies in Higher Education
University of Melbourne

Ms Sue Mikilewicz

Director Planning and Institutional Performance
University of South Australia

To be announced

Chair, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) Higher Education Standards Panel

Ms Claire Thomas

Policy Director
Business Council of Australia

Mr Jesse Marshall

National Union of Students