The University of Western Australia’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Alan Robson, has been selected to lead the development of new standards to underpin quality in higher education, Minister for Tertiary education, Senator Chris Evans announced.


Professor Robson will chair the Higher Educations Standards Panel that will be tasked with developing new standards that underpin the country’s education system.


"The new standards will be crucial to the operations of the new Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency in ensuring students receives the best quality experience,” Senator Evans said.


"I’m pleased that Professor Robson has accepted this important role in shaping the standards for the delivery of quality higher education in Australia.”


Professor Robson will be joined by a panel of senior leaders in higher education including:

  • Professor Joanne Wright, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President: Academic, University of South Australia
  • Professor Richard James, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Participation and Engagement) and Director of the Centre for the Study of Higher Education, University of Melbourne;
  • Professor David Siddle, former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), University of Queensland; and
  • Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, Director – Quality, Tertiary Education, Science and Research, South Australian Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology and Member, National Skills Standards Council.