The Victorian Government has announced the first 100 maths and science specialists to work in Victoria’s government primary schools. The specialists will be tasked with improving the standard of maths and science education in state schools throughout the state.


Minister responsible for the Teaching Profession Peter Hall and Education Minister Martin Dixon today announced the first schools to participate in the Victorian Government's $24.3 million five-year program.


Among the 55 primary schools selected to receive funding for specialists are Daylesford, Rochester, Leopold, Berwick Fields, Warragul, Mansfield, Clifton Springs and St Albans East.


The successful schools will now select current teachers to train as specialists to work in both their own school and other nearby schools from the start of next year.


"The specialists will work intensively with other teachers to make maths and science lessons as exciting as possible, aiming to encourage students to do well in maths and science and to continue with these subjects in later school years," Mr Hall said.


Sixty maths specialists have been selected to work with 26 schools and 40 science specialists will work with 29 schools.


The remaining 100 specialists promised by the Victorian Government under the Primary Mathematics and Science Specialists Initiative will be selected in 2013, with 60 science specialists and 40 maths specialists.


The initiative is part of a broader strategy aimed at improving maths and science participation and standards in Victorian schools, which also includes a four year $5 million program to provide 400 scholarships for university science graduates who want to become teachers in Victorian government schools, particularly in physics and chemistry.